what a difference a day makes

First, I have to thank all of the wonderful words of support after my last post. Many of you have already been through endo, which is quite common. My doctor failed to mention that to me, and when the nurse did I felt that she was just trying to put me at ease after seeing my face at the mention of surgery. After I got home I researched online and felt much better. I am just waiting to hear when they want to schedule the surgery.

The best news, however, is that WE GOT A LITTLE BOY! On Thursday afternoon, at about 3:30 p.m., our social worker called and asked if I was sitting down. They had a placement for us, but we needed to make a decision right away. A 15-month old boy was in a foster home, but had to be removed immediately because of some allegations made against the foster mother (nothing to do with harming him). All family reunification had already been severed, and on that very day was his .26 hearing (to terminate parental rights), but in light of the cirumstances just happening the judge put a hold on it until another adoptive home could be found. Our social worker said that this was an ideal situation for us as it was very low risk. We really didn’t need any time to think about it and so his social worker delivered him to our house that night at about 7:00 p.m. He is unbelievably cute! Until he’s really ours, though, I won’t post any obvious pictures of him on the blog, and will probably password protect many posts. We are extremely happy to have this little boy with us! So far he has been a dream, but of course this is the “honeymoon period” in adoption. He sleeps through the night in his own crib and really doesn’t fuss unless something is really wrong, like he wants to eat, sleep, or be changed. He also eats everything we put in front of him, or at least will try it. We’ve been having so much fun with him! I am just in love with this boy (we both are), but realize we have to be a little bit guarded since nothing’s final until the adoption hearing. In reality, anything can happen, so I’m trying to give him everything I’ve got and he needs while still knowing it could end at any time. That’s the reality of going the route of fost-adopt. It is a blessing, however, to have any amount of time with this child. For all of you out there still waiting, it will happen. And it may happen at any moment! : )

 

Have a great week!

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “what a difference a day makes

  1. klarobinson215

    Congratulations!!

  2. I just squealed with excitement when I read your post. He’s a cutie pie! Congrats!!!

  3. miranda

    Can’t wait until Thursday! 🙂

  4. thank you! thank you! thank you!

Leave a Reply

